Buy The Book

Blackwatertown published 23rd July 2020 in paperback & ebook by Unbound, and 27th August 2020 in audiobook by WF Howes Clipper imprint.

ISBNs: paperback 9781783529254 & ebook 9781783529247

You can pre-order or buy the paperback, ebook or audio book from these outlets. Buying local helps bookshops & your community. Or subscribe to my newsletter or email me & I’ll make sure there’s a copy for you.

Worldwide

Unbound (the publisher) – paperback or ebook: https://unbound.com/books/blackwatertown/

Audiobook, narrated by Patrick Moy via Audible or Amazon UK.

France – Le Bookshop, Montpellierhttps://www.lebookshop.com/ Librairie Anglophone, bookclubs and cafe.

Spain – The Bookshop, Marbella, Malaga https://www.thebookshop.es/ Alicia and Derek dreamed of opening their own bookshop. Now they’ve done it. Here’s to making dreams come true!

Amazon.co.ukPaperback or you can have an ebook/Kindle edition.

USA: Amazon.com – No paperback link yet, but there is an ebook/Kindle edition available.

India: Amazon.in – ebook/Kindle edition here

Foyles: https://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/blackwatertown,paul-waters-9781783529254?term=blackwatertown

Waterstones: audiobook & paperbacks https://www.waterstones.com/books/search/term/blackwatertown

Northern Ireland

No Alibis bookshop, Belfast http://noalibis.com/contact/ is taking orders, posting out and even delivering in person.

The Secret Bookshelf, Carrickfergus (Co. Antrim) https://www.facebook.com/TheSecretBooks1/ beautifully named and run by author Jo Zebedee.

Sheehys, Cookstown (Co. Tyrone) https://www.facebook.com/sheehys.cookstown/ The largest bookseller in mid-Ulster.

Waterstones, Belfast https://www.waterstones.com/bookshops/belfast big and has a cafe on Fountain Street.

Waterstones, Lisburn https://www.waterstones.com/bookshops/lisburn biggest bookshop in the city.

Waterstones, Newry https://www.waterstones.com/bookshops/newry inside the Quays Shopping Centre.

Republic of Ireland

Alan Hanna’s Bookstore, Rathmines, Dublin https://www.alanhannas.com/Search.asp?SearchTerm=9781783529254 I used to live in the neighbourhood.

Clifden Bookshop, Clifden (Co. Galway) https://www.clifdenbookshop.com/ in the capital of beautiful Connemara.

Farrell & Nephew, Newbridge (Co. Kildare) https://farrellandnephew.ie/ independent and loving local writers since 1957.

Kerr’s Bookshop, Clonakilty (Co. Cork) http://kerrsbookshop.ie/ bright and beautiful shelves.

Liber, Sligo http://liber.ie/ Brian and Ailbhe’s books and music in the heart of Yeats country.

O’Mahoney’s, Limerick https://www.omahonys.ie/ booksellers since 1902!

Philip’s Bookshop, Mallow (Co. Cork) https://philipsbookshop.com/ independent, family-run and also sells school uniforms.

Roe River Books, Dundalk (Co. Louth) https://www.roeriverbooks.ie/just south of the border.

Sheelagh na Gig, Cloughjordan (Co. Tipperary) http://www.sheelaghnagig.com/ books and wholefoods.

Scotland

The Edinburgh Bookshop, Edinburgh https://www.edinburghbookshop.com/ “This is the kind of bookshop we’d all like to have in our neighbourhood” says The Guardian.

Hyndland Bookshop, Glasgow https://www.facebook.com/HyndlandBookshop/ lovely front-facing book display shelves and dog-friendly.

The Portobello Bookshop, Portobello, Edinburgh https://www.theportobellobookshop.com/ independent, welcoming, by the seaside (which is why it used to be Mick’s Tackle Shop). Or you can do it online https://www.theportobellobookshop.com/crime-horror/blackwatertown-by-paul-waters

Tackle and Books, Tobermory, Isle of Mull http://www.tackleandbooks.co.uk/ the most photographed shop in Scotland. As well as books and fishing tackle, they also sell midge machines. (Open again in August.)

The Ullapool Bookshop, Ullapool (Ross-shire) https://www.ullapoolbookshop.co.uk/ near the harbour, so call in on your way to or from the ferry to the Hebrides.

Berkshire

Hungerford Bookshop, Hungerford (Berkshire) http://www.hungerfordbookshop.co.uk an independent with two floors of books in a listed building on the High Street.

The Little Bookshop, Cookham (Berkshire) https://www.thelittlebookshop.info/ small but beautifully formed.

Buckinghamshire

Chorleywood Bookshop, Chorleywood https://chilternbookshops.co.uk/ Often in the media. They do lots of events.

The Craft Beer Shop, Little Chalfont https://www.craftbeershops.co.uk/ Beer from every brewery in Britain (eventually), cider and signed copies of Blackwatertown.

The Deli, Chalfont St Giles https://www.facebook.com/thedelichalfonts/ I’d like a pastry, a pasty, a coffee and a signed copy of Blackwatertown please. Yes, it’s an actual deli. A very special one.

Gerrards Cross Bookshop, Gerrards Cross https://chilternbookshops.co.uk/contact/gerrards-cross-shop/ Pick a book. (Might I suggest Blackwatertown?) Then read it in one of the many nearby cafes.

Marlow Bookshop, in Marlow https://marlowbookshop.co.uk/ with biscuits for dogs and sometimes cake for humans. See their dog visitors here https://www.instagram.com/dogsofmarlowbookshop/

Waterstones, Aylesbury https://www.waterstones.com/bookshops/aylesbury in the heart of the historic market town.

Waterstones, High Wycombe https://www.waterstones.com/bookshops/high-wycombe big and bright in the Eden shopping centre.

Cambridgeshire

Heffers, Cambridge https://www.facebook.com/HeffersBooks selling books in the heart of the city since 1876.

Cheshire

Nantwich Bookshop, Nantwich https://www.nantwichbookshop.com/ books and a café in a lovely old building

Cumbria

The Book Lounge, Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria https://thebooklounge.shop/ It’s worth crossing the Devil’s Bridge to sample the tea, cake, gifts and lots of books – which you can also acquire via this link https://the-book-lounge.square.site/product/blackwatertown-by-paul-waters/1979

Fred’s Ambleside Bookshop, Ambleside, Cumbria https://fredsamblesidebookshop.co.uk/ small, independent and nestled in the heart of the Lake District. Arthur Ransome asked Fred when it opened: “Have you got all of my books in? If not, why not?”

Derbyshire

Scarthin Books, Cromford (Derbyshire) http://www.scarthinbooks.com/ “a bookshop for the majority of minorities” & “Britain’s most enjoyable bookshop” – big claims, but they do have a veggie café and look out over a lake.

Devon

Book Stop, Tavistock https://bookstoptavistock.co.uk/ books and music, reviews and interesting reading suggestions.

Dogberry & Finch, Okehampton, Devon https://www.dogberryandfinch.co.uk/ hand-picked, carefully curated and ever changing stock.

Winstone Books, Sidmouth http://winstonebooks.co.uk/sidmouth official bookseller for the Sidmouth Literary Festival on the coast.

Dorset

Winstone Books, Sherborne http://winstonebooks.co.uk/sherborne/ former winner of the Independent Bookseller of the Year.

Essex

Wivenhoe Books, in Wivenhoe (Essex) http://www.wivenhoebooks.com/ picturesque, on the coast near Colchester.

Gloucestershire

Max Minerva’s Marvellous Books, Bristol https://maxminervas.co.uk/ an irresistible shop name.

The Suffolk Anthology, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire https://theanthology.co.uk/ independent, pretty and full of old and new favourite books.

Hampshire

Laurence Oxley, Alresford, Hampshire http://www.birketfoster.co.uk/ not just books, paintings too – especially Birket Foster.

Pigeon Books, Southsea, Hampshire https://pigeonbooks.co.uk/ Mel and Phil love books and love Southsea – this independent bookshop is the result!

Herefordshire

Courtyard Books, Ledbury, Herefordshire https://www.courtyardbooks.co.uk/ small, friendly, independent, in person and online.

Hertfordshire

Books on the Hill, St Albans, Hertfordshire https://www.books-on-the-hill.co.uk/ very cosy and they have a ghost!

David’s Bookshop, Letchworth Garden City, Hertfordshire https://www.davids-bookshops.co.uk/books.aspx 50,000 books, music, a cafe and a poet in residence – John Gohorry.

Kent

Canterbury Christ Church University Bookshop, Canterbury, Kent https://bookshop.canterbury.ac.uk/ the place for you if you’re a student, or even if you’re not.

Top Hat and Tales, Faversham, Kent https://www.top-hatandtales.co.uk/ Match your book to your hat. Or vice versa. Yes – they sell books and hats!

Lancashire

Number 10, Clitheroe, Lancashire https://www.insidenumber10.com/about-us one of only two bookshops in the UK specialising in contemporary and classic crime fiction.

London

Bookseller Crow on the hill, Crystal Palace, London https://booksellercrow.co.uk/ “Twee, kowtowing, conventional it ain’t. Heavy on modern fiction, American lit and crime…”

Clapham Books, Clapham, London https://www.claphambooks.com/ a tiny independent, just by Clapham Common.

Daunt Books, Marylebone High Street, London https://dauntbooks.co.uk/ All bookshops are beautiful, because – books! But this one stands out. I find it hard to walk past without going inside.

Dulwich Books, London https://dulwichbooks.co.uk/ you’ll meet a bunch of booksellers steeped in book lore inside here.

[email protected], Highbury, London https://www.ink84bookshop.co.uk/ books, bar, film nights – the love-child of artist Tessa Shaw and the author Betsy Tobin.

John Sandoe Books, Chelsea, London https://johnsandoe.com founded in 1957, inhabits a row of charming eighteenth century shops.

Lutyens & Rubinstein, Notting Hill, London https://www.lutyensrubinstein.co.uk/bookshop/ They say “every book stocked has its place because somebody loves it and has recommended it.”

Muswell Hill Bookshop, London http://www.muswellhillbookshop.com/ independent since 1985, double-fronted, “the people of Muswell Hill are lucky to have this shop on their doorstep.” – Book Lover’s London guidebook.

Pages of Hackney, London https://pagesofhackney.co.uk/ an award-winning bookshop on the Lower Clapton Road – friendly, welcoming, accessible and inclusive.

Pitshanger Bookshop, Ealing, London https://pitshangerbooks.co.uk/ 3,000 books in stock and they’re very keen on local authors.

Northamptonshire

The Old Hall Bookshop, Brackley, Northamptonshire http://www.oldhallbooks.com/ a beautiful bookshop, and not just because they always have the kettle on.

Nottinghamshire

The Book Case, Lowdham (Nottinghamshire) http://www.thebookcase.co.uk/ has its own book festival.

Oxfordshire

The Book House, Thame (Oxfordshire) http://thebookhousethame.co.uk/ very charming with Roald Dahl and WB Yeats links.

Blackwells, Oxford www.blackwells.co.uk/oxford includes the Norrington Room, the world’s largest single room selling books.

Daunt Summertown, Oxford https://summertown.dauntbooks.co.uk/ excellent staff picks.

Mostly Books, Abingdon (Oxfordshire) https://mostly-books.co.uk/ they have a cosy reading group.

Somerset

Hunting Raven Books, Frome http://winstonebooks.co.uk/frome on Cheap Street, where a leat, or stream, runs down the middle.

Surrey

The Cobham Bookshop, Cobham (Surrey) http://www.cobhambooks.com/ They love books, they love dogs, they’re by the River Mole. (I wonder how they feel about moles?)

Sussex

City Books, Brighton and Hove (East Sussex) http://www.city-books.co.uk/ the area’s “largest and liveliest independent bookshop”.

Rother Books, Battle (East Sussex) https://www.facebook.com/rotherbooks/ “a truly independent bookshop where the welcome is warm.”

The Steyning Bookshop, Steyning (West Sussex) https://www.steyningbookshop.co.uk/ there’s a big red book train to climb on, from where you may spot Julia Donaldson planning a singalong or an author supper.

Warwickshire

Kenilworth Books, in Kenilworth (Warwickshire) https://www.kenilworthbooks.co.uk/ another friendly bunch.

Warwick Bookshop, in Warwick http://www.warwickbooks.net/ Mog and Pauline can help you out in English, French, Italian, Polish and Russian – and that’s impressive!

Wiltshire

Devizes Books, Devizes (Wiltshire) https://www.facebook.com/devizesbooks books and gallery in the very grand historic Handel House.

Yorkshire

Book Corner, Saltburn-by-the-Sea (North Yorkshire) http://www.bookcornershop.co.uk/ happy shop by the sea.

The Book Corner, Halifax (West Yorkshire) https://bookcornerhalifax.com/ independent and contemporary, with a children’s bookshop called Bookworms.

Fox Lane Books, Thorpe Willoughby (North Yorkshire) https://www.foxlanebooks.co.uk/ pop-up bookseller and online. And this page on the Fox Lane website is particularly intriguing https://www.foxlanebooks.co.uk/product-page/pre-order-blackwatertown-pub-23rd-july

Limestone Books, Settle, Yorkshire https://limestonebooks.co.uk/ Tanya was so inspired by other indie bookshops that she opened her own. You should visit.

The Stripey Badger, Grassington (North Yorkshire) https://thestripeybadger.co.uk/ books, home baking, coffee, film set, awards and a magnificent name – the Stripey Badger has it all!

The Whitby Bookshop, Whitby, Yorkshire http://www.whitbybookshop.co.uk/ quirky, independent, by the sea.

Or sign up to my newsletter and I’ll keep you up to date.